(N) Underground Release Round-Up I

DnL presents a quick round-up of some of the best new underground releases of the last few weeks. The list is by no means exhaustive, so if you would like your band’s album or EP mentioning on the next instalment please get in touch with the magazine.

XIII - North of Nowhere (Album)
The Hull based thrash trio are set to release their debut thirteen track album this Saturday (21st); making hard copies available to buy at the album launch gig. The album contains several of the band’s staple tracks, such as Triskaidekaphobia, as well as brand new tracks –said to feature a post-apocalyptic theme. Entry to the venue is £3, and special bundles will be made available to purchase on the night – such as a shirt and CD for £7 (placing the CD at an estimated £3).
Battalions – Warnings Have Been Issued (EP)
Hull’s ‘finest’ sludge act have released a five track EP entitled Warnings Have Been Issued. The EP, which was released on the 11th, is available for free download from battalionsludge.bandcamp.com. Battalions are planning a hard copy release with different artwork exclusive to that release. The notes for the EP reveal that it was recorded at Battalions practice room over two nights, with minimal recording equipment and at maximum volume; to give the proper mentally scarring sound.
Spires – Lucid Abstractions (Mini-album)
The new acoustic mini album by Mancunian progressive metal, Spires, is now available for purchase. The record features four brand new tracks and an acoustic version of 'Spiral of Ascension', from their highly praised debut album of the same name. The release is limited to a run of 500 copies on Digipack, and with many already snapped up through pre-orders it is expected to sell quickly. There are also future plans for a digital release on iTunes, Amazon MP3. Available from the band’s Big Cartel page for £5 (spires.bigcartel.com).
Gratitude – Life Lessons (EP)
The new three track EP from progressive/hardcore Hullians is now available for download from the band’s soundcloud page. It is a free release, and the band has also rather helpfully uploaded the lyrics for all of the tracks featured. Each song is packed full of infectious licks that will rattle around your brain for days. At zero cost you can’t really say fairer than that. Available from soundcloud.com/gratitudeuk/sets/gratitude-life-lessons-ep
Knockout Kaine – House of Sins (Album)
Knockout Kaine are a bit more prominent than the others on this list, but their debut album is worth a mention. Released on the 9th of July, House of Sins is the first full length album from midlands based hard rock/sleaze band, and it is a corker; thirteen tracks of debauchery and old school rebellion. The album is available from Amazon for £14 or from iTunes.